Retour au blog

Combien d'argent les Canadiens devraient-ils épargner pour la retraite?

Lecture de 8 minutes

Combien d'argent les Canadiens devraient-ils épargner pour la retraite?

Écrit par

Gaby Pilson
Gaby Pilson

En résumé

  • Les Canadiens devraient s'efforcer d'épargner chaque mois au moins 10 % à 15 % de leur revenu avant impôt en vue de leur retraite.

  • Pour épargner en vue de votre retraite, vous devez cotiser fréquemment à un REER ou à un compte de retraite similaire bénéficiant d'avantages fiscaux.

  • Lorsque vous planifiez votre stratégie d'épargne-retraite, envisagez d'autres sources potentielles de revenus, telles que d'autres comptes d'investissement, des revenus locatifs et des pensions de l'employeur ou du gouvernement.

  • Plus vous commencez tôt à épargner pour la retraite, mieux c'est, car cela vous permet de profiter des intérêts composés.

Vous vous demandez combien d'argent il vous faut pour prendre votre retraite au Canada? Vous n'êtes pas la seule personne.

Épargner en vue de la retraite demande du temps, de la détermination et de la constance. Cependant, il n'est pas toujours facile de déterminer avec précision le montant de l'épargne-retraite à épargner en tant que Canadien.

Essayer de prévoir le montant dont vous aurez besoin pour vivre votre retraite dans trente, quarante ou même cinquante ans peut sembler un défi impossible à relever. Cependant, même si la situation de chaque personne est différente, il existe des lignes directrices générales que vous pouvez suivre pour planifier votre épargne-retraite.

Pour vous aider, nous allons examiner en profondeur tout ce que vous devez savoir sur le montant dont les Canadiens ont besoin pour prendre leur retraite.

Comment épargner pour la retraite au Canada : les principes de base

La plupart des planificateurs, conseillers et coachs financiers encouragent leurs clients à commencer à épargner dès que possible de 10 % à 15 % de leur revenu avant impôt en vue de leur retraite. Il s'agit toutefois d'une règle générale qui ne convient pas à tout le monde. Le montant que vous devez épargner avant de prendre votre retraite dépend de facteurs qui vous sont propres, tels que l'âge auquel vous prévoyez de prendre votre retraite, les dépenses auxquelles vous devrez faire face après votre départ à la retraite, votre situation de vie, etc.

Si le montant n'est pas le même pour tout le monde, le principe de la retraite est définitivement le même : plus tôt vous commencez à épargner pour la retraite, plus vos fonds ont le temps de fructifier et d'accumuler des intérêts composés.

Les intérêts composés peuvent être vus comme votre argent qui fait de l'argent pour vous. Lorsque vous investissez un montant dans des actifs détenus dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER), cet argent commence immédiatement à produire des intérêts. Par la suite, à mesure que vous continuez de cotiser dans votre compte et à investir les fonds, les intérêts que vous obtenez sur vos placements sont composés et s'accumulent, sans que vous ayez à fournir d'efforts supplémentaires.

Imaginons par exemple que vous commenciez par un investissement initial de 1000 $ et que vous investissiez ensuite 500 $ additionnels par mois pendant 40 années. Avec un taux de croissance prudent de 7 %, vous pourriez disposer d'environ 1,3 million de dollars au moment de votre départ à la retraite, grâce aux intérêts composés. Au cours de cette même période, vous n'auriez versé que 240 000 $ de votre propre charge.

Par conséquent, la puissance des intérêts composés est l'un des concepts clés de la planification de la retraite. Comme vous devrez trouver un moyen de remplacer votre revenu obtenu à la retraite, le fait de faire travailler votre argent le plus tôt possible peut vous aider à prendre une retraite confortable au Canada.

En fin de compte, les principes de base de l'épargne-retraite sont la rapidité et la régularité. Plus vous investissez tôt et fréquemment dans l'épargne pour vos années d'or, plus vous avez de chances de disposer du montant nécessaire pour prendre votre retraite.

Comment créer un plan d'épargne-retraite?

Maintenant que vous comprenez les principes de base de l'épargne-retraite et que vous savez approximativement combien vous devriez épargner pour votre retraite, voyons comment vous pouvez prendre en charge votre propre plan d'épargne-retraite.

1. Ouvrez un compte de retraite

L'ouverture d'un compte de retraite est généralement ce qu’il y a de mieux. Au Canada, il existe un certain nombre d'options d'investissement pour la retraite et de régimes de retraite gouvernementaux dont vous pouvez profiter :

Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) : c’est quoi et comment ça fonctionne?

Le régime de retraite individuel de base du Canada est appelé régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER). Un compte REER est accessible à toute personne au Canada âgée de moins de 71 ans et disposant d'un numéro d'assurance sociale. Les investissements que vous effectuez dans vos comptes REER sont déductibles de votre revenu imposable. Avec les plans REER, vous pouvez cotiser jusqu'à un certain montant chaque année (appelé votre plafond de déduction REER). Vos fonds fructifient ensuite à l'abri de l'impôt jusqu'à la retraite.

Le seul problème avec les comptes REER est que si vous décidez d'accéder à ces fonds avant votre départ à la retraite, vous devrez payer des impôts sur ces fonds. Il existe également un autre type de compte REER, appelé REER immobilisé, qui ne vous permet généralement pas de retirer des fonds avant votre départ à la retraite.

L’avantage des REER, c'est que vous pouvez choisir de détenir différents types d'actifs, tels que des actions, des obligations, des fonds communs de placement, etc. en fonction de vos objectifs. Ainsi, l'argent que vous mettez de côté pour votre retraite sous forme de REER ne se déprécie pas avec le temps, mais s'accroît en franchise d'impôt grâce à vos investissements.

Le montant maximal que vous pouvez verser annuellement dans vos REER est fixe, c'est ce qu'on appelle votre plafond de cotisation REER. Il correspond à 18 % de votre revenu obtenu l'année précédente ou au plafond annuel de cotisation standard pour l'année d'imposition, soit 29 210 $ pour 2022, le montant le moins élevé étant retenu.

Sécurité de la vieillesse au Canada (SV) : c’est quoi et y suis-je éligible?

La Sécurité de la vieillesse du Canada ou SV est un régime de retraite réglementé par le gouvernement canadien qui dépend de la durée pendant laquelle vous avez vécu au Canada après l'âge de 18 ans. Si vous remplissez les critères d'admissibilité à la SV, vous commencez à recevoir un montant fixe de prestations à partir de 65 ans. Le montant de cette prestation dépend de votre âge, de votre situation de famille et de votre niveau de revenu.

Contrairement aux REER, elle est considérée comme un revenu imposable et est assujettie à l'impôt sur le recouvrement si votre revenu annuel net est supérieur au seuil de revenu mondial pour l'année en question. De plus, le programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse est financé par le gouvernement du Canada et vous n’y « contribuez » pas directement, comme vous le feriez pour les REER ou d’autres régimes de pension. Ce qu’il y a de mieux au sujet de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, c’est que le gouvernement examine régulièrement le régime pour s’assurer que les prestations que vous recevez correspondent à l’inflation.

Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), REER collectifs et régimes de pension agréés (RPA)

Le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) est destiné à remplacer une petite partie de votre revenu après votre départ à la retraite au Canada. Il est déduit de votre revenu et les prestations que vous recevez à la retraite dépendent de votre revenu avant la retraite. Il s'agit d'un régime réglementé par le gouvernement et vous devez être âgé d'au moins 60 ans pour commencer à recevoir des versements au titre de ce régime. Comme pour les REER, vous devez faire une demande pour être admissible aux prestations du RPC.

Certains employeurs proposent divers régimes de retraite et pensions, tels que les régimes de pension agréés (RPA) et les régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite collectifs (REER collectifs). Il existe quelques différences entre ces régimes, mais l'idée générale est que vous et votre employeur versez des cotisations pour votre épargne-retraite.

Quel que soit le type de compte de retraite que vous choisissez d'ouvrir, l'important est que vous disposiez d'un compte de retraite en premier lieu. Le fait de disposer d'un compte dédié et fiscalement avantageux pour votre épargne-retraite vous sera utile à long terme.

2. Calculez vos besoins en matière de dépenses de retraite et vos sources de revenus

Nous avons déjà parlé de la règle générale d'épargne de 10 % à 15 % pour la planification de la retraite. Mais en réalité, la situation financière de la plupart des gens est un peu plus nuancée qu'il n'y a de réponse unique à la question de savoir de combien vous avez besoin pour prendre votre retraite au Canada.

Si le fait d'épargner chaque année de 10 % à 15 % de votre revenu avant impôt vous permet généralement d'atteindre un bon niveau financier avant votre départ à la retraite, il est utile de prendre le temps de réfléchir au montant qu'il vous faudra économiser après votre cessation d'activité. Vous devez également tenir compte des différentes sources de revenus dont vous disposerez à la retraite afin de pouvoir investir plus efficacement dès maintenant.

De nombreux experts financiers suggèrent d'épargner au moins 70 % du revenu annuel actuel avant la retraite. En d'autres termes, si vous gagnez actuellement 100 000 $ par an, vous devrez disposer d'environ 70 000 $ par année dans votre compte de retraite.

La raison en est simple : de nombreuses personnes à la retraite finissent par dépenser davantage pour des choses comme les voyages et les loisirs, mais elles ont souvent moins de dépenses, comme un prêt hypothécaire ou des investissements récurrents. Additionnellement, vous pouvez également compter sur les fonds du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) ou du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) pour compenser une partie de votre perte de revenu.

Essayer d'épargner suffisamment d'argent pour remplacer 70 % de vos revenus à la retraite peut sembler décourageant. Il serait donc préférable de commencer par répondre aux questions suivantes :

  • Quel est mon âge actuel et quand prévois-je de prendre ma retraite?

  • Quel est mon revenu annuel actuel?

  • Quelles sont les dépenses que j'envisage après la retraite?

  • De combien d'argent aurai-je besoin chaque année pour faire face à ces dépenses?

Une fois que vous aurez répondu approximativement à toutes ces questions, vous pourrez commencer à répartir votre montant total en objectifs annuels, puis en objectifs d'épargne mensuels. N'oubliez pas que vous disposez peut-être d'autres sources de revenus que votre REER et le RPC. Vous avez peut-être un compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI), des revenus locatifs ou un accès au régime de pension des Forces armées canadiennes. Vous pouvez tenir compte de toutes ces autres sources de revenus dans votre plan d'épargne-retraite.

3. Comprenez votre horizon temporel

La planification de la retraite consiste à tirer parti de la puissance des intérêts composés. Mais pour optimiser les avantages des intérêts composés, vous devez commencer votre stratégie d'investissement dans les fonds de retraite le plus tôt possible.

Pour les jeunes diplômés de l'université et les autres jeunes de 20 ans, un horizon de 40 ou 50 ans est suffisant pour qu'un investissement initial, même modeste, se transforme en un fantastique pécule. En revanche, si vous êtes déjà bien avancé dans votre carrière professionnelle et que vous n'avez pas encore commencé à épargner pour votre retraite, vous devrez peut-être vous montrer plus agressif dans votre épargne.

Le temps qui vous sépare de l'âge idéal de la retraite influencera grandement la façon dont vous investirez les fonds de votre REER et de vos autres comptes.

Les jeunes qui ont un horizon temporel plus long sont plus susceptibles de bénéficier d'investissements plus risqués et plus rémunérateurs, comme les actions et même la cryptomonnaie. Pendant ce temps, les professionnels plus âgés peuvent adhérer à une plus grande proportion d'investissements moins risqués, comme les obligations, dans leurs portefeuilles.

Comprendre son horizon temporel est un élément essentiel de la planification de la retraite. Si vous êtes novice en matière d'investissement ou si vous souhaitez obtenir de l'aide pour sélectionner les produits d'investissement adaptés à vos besoins, envisagez de travailler avec un planificateur financier ou un conseiller financier qualifié.

4. Optimisez vos cotisations et vos avantages fiscaux

La planification de la retraite est un marathon, pas une course. Si vous voulez que les intérêts composés jouent en votre faveur, vous devez tirer parti de vos plans d'épargne exonérés d'impôt et de vos comptes de retraite en y contribuant aussi souvent que possible.

Bien que la situation financière de chaque personne limite dans une certaine mesure ses capacités d'investissement, cela vaut la peine de faire un effort sérieux pour verser chaque mois une part importante de votre revenu dans votre compte de retraite. Même si 10 % à 15 % de votre revenu actuel avant impôt n'est peut-être pas réalisable pour tout le monde, tout montant que vous pouvez verser aujourd'hui vous rapportera des dividendes par la suite.

N'oubliez pas qu'il existe des montants maximaux pour les cotisations à la plupart des comptes de retraite bénéficiant d'avantages fiscaux au Canada. Les cotisations aux REER et aux REER collectifs sont généralement limitées à environ 18 % de votre revenu de l'année précédente. Plus vous pouvez cotiser jusqu'à cette limite, mieux c'est, surtout si vous avez un REER collectif auquel l'employeur associe des cotisations de contrepartie.

Si vous constatez que vous atteignez souvent le plafond de cotisation à votre REER chaque année, vous pouvez également envisager d'ouvrir un CELI comme stratégie d'investissement additionnelle. Le plafond de cotisation au CELI varie d'une année à l'autre, mais il est actuellement d'environ 6000 $ et devrait augmenter tous les deux ans.

Optimiser vos cotisations annuelles ne sert pas uniquement à épargner en vue de la retraite. La plupart des régimes de retraite vous permettent également de bénéficier d'allégements fiscaux pour chaque dollar cotisé. Cela signifie que vous pouvez épargner en vue de la retraite et réduire votre facture fiscale actuelle, tout à la fois.

5. Évaluez régulièrement vos progrès

Aucune bonne stratégie d'épargne-retraite n'est complète sans de fréquentes vérifications des progrès réalisés. Si vous êtes un investisseur passionné, à l'affût des changements sur le marché boursier, surveiller le rendement de votre REER et effectuer la gestion de votre portefeuille de placements pourrait ne pas vous prendre beaucoup de temps.

Mais même si vous n'avez pas l'habitude d'investir dans des actions et des obligations, il est utile d'effectuer un suivi trimestriel des performances de votre régime de retraite.

En vérifiant régulièrement l'évolution de vos différents investissements, vous êtes mieux à même de modifier vos placements si l'un d'entre eux n'est pas assez performant. De plus, si votre situation personnelle change, vous devrez peut-être réévaluer votre plan d'épargne. Un changement d'emploi, un déménagement dans une nouvelle ville, la naissance d'un enfant ou d'autres événements majeurs de la vie peuvent avoir une incidence sur le montant qu'il est réaliste d'épargner.

Si vous configurez tout et n'y pensez plus, votre portefeuille d'investissements de retraite risque de dévier de sa trajectoire sans que vous le sachiez. Plus vous approchez de l'âge de la retraite, plus ces contrôles deviennent importants.

Dernières réflexions : comment faciliter la planification de votre retraite au Canada?

Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de réponse unique à la question de savoir combien les Canadiens devraient épargner pour leur retraite, la plupart d'entre eux devraient s'efforcer d'investir au moins 10 % à 15 % de leur revenu avant impôt dans un REER ou un compte similaire bénéficiant d'avantages fiscaux.

Pour épargner en vue de la retraite, il faut investir tôt et souvent afin de profiter des intérêts composés. De plus, en vérifiant régulièrement l'évolution de votre régime de retraite, vous pouvez vous assurer que vos investissements restent sur la voie de la croissance à long terme. Vous avez ainsi plus de chances de disposer d'une épargne plus que suffisante pour vivre confortablement à la retraite.

Remarque : Les renseignements et/ou les caractéristiques des produits KOHO peuvent avoir été mis à jour depuis la publication de cet article. Veuillez consulter la page des forfaits KOHO pour y trouver les informations les plus récentes sur nos comptes!

Gaby Pilson

Gaby Pilson est écrivaine, éducatrice, guide touristique et amante de tout ce qui touche les finances personnelles. Elle cherche à aider les gens à prendre le contrôle de leur vie financière en rendant les ressources d’investissement, de gestion budgétaire et d’économie accessibles à tous.

logo.koho

Entreprise

À proposLes affiliésCarrièresRabais communautairesCultureEntrepriseApprendreNouveaux arrivantsLes partenairesVoyageStatutRabais étudiants et diplômés

Ouvrir une session

La carte prépayée MastercardMD KOHO est émise par KOHO Financial Inc. en vertu d'une licence accordée par Mastercard International Incorporated. Mastercard et le concept des cercles sont des marques de commerce déposées de Mastercard International Incorporated.

En utilisant ce site Web, vous acceptez nos Conditions générales. Suivez ces liens pour en savoir plus sur notre Politique de confidentialité et notre Politique en matière d’accessibilité. © 2024 KOHO Financial Inc.

Back to learn

How much should Canadians save for retirement?

8 min read

Gaby Pilson
#retirement#savings#RRSP
How much should Canadians save for retirement?

Rounding it up

  • Canadians should aim to save at least 10 to 15% of their pre-tax income for retirement each month.

  • Saving for your golden years requires frequent contributions to an RRSP or a similar tax-advantaged retirement account.

  • When planning your retirement savings strategy, consider other potential sources of income, such as other investment accounts, rental income, and employer or government pensions.

  • The earlier you can start saving for retirement, the better as it helps you take advantage of compound interest.

Wondering how much money you need to retire in Canada? You’re not alone.

Saving up for retirement takes time, determination, and consistency. However, figuring out precisely how much you should save for retirement as a Canadian isn’t always easy.

Trying to predict the amount of money you’ll need to live out your golden years thirty, forty, or even fifty years down the line can seem like an impossible challenge. But while everyone’s situation is different, there are some overarching guidelines you can follow when planning your retirement savings.

To help you out, we’ll do a deep dive into everything you need to know about how much Canadians need to retire.

How do I save for retirement in Canada: Basic principles

Most financial planners, advisors, and coaches encourage their clients to start saving about 10 to 15% of their pre-tax income for their retirement as soon as possible. This is a general rule though, and it may not work for everyone. The critical part of the question “how much do you need to retire in Canada” is “you” and the money you need to save up before you retire will depend on factors specific to you, such as at what age you plan on retiring, what expenses you will be looking at post-retirement, what your living situation is, etc.

While the amount may not be the same for everyone, the principle of retirement is definitely going to be the same: the sooner you start saving for retirement, the more time your funds have to grow and accumulate compound interest.

Compound interest can be thought of as your money making money for you. When you invest and amount into assets held in a Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP), that money immediately starts accruing interest. Eventually, as you continue to contribute to your account, and invest the funds, the interest you earn on your investments will compound and accrue more money, without any extra effort on your part.

For example, imagine you start with a $1,000 initial investment and then invest an additional $500 a month for 40 years. With a conservative 7% growth rate, you could have around $1.3 million by the time you retire—all because of compound interest. Over that same time period, you would’ve contributed about only $240,000 of your own money.

As a result, the power of compound interest is one of the key concepts behind retirement planning. Since you’ll need to find a way to replace your earned income in retirement, putting your money to work for you as soon as possible can help you retire comfortably in Canada.

Ultimately, the basic principles behind saving for retirement are timeliness and consistency. The earlier and more frequently you put money toward saving for your golden years, the more likely you are to have the amount you need to retire.

How to create a retirement savings plan

Now that you understand the basics behind retirement savings and approximately how much you should save for retirement, let’s take a look at how you can create your own retirement savings plan.

1. Open a retirement account

Opening a retirement account is usually the best way to get started with your planning. In Canada, there are a couple of retirement investment options and government retirement schemes you can take advantage of:

Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP): What’s an RRSP and how does it work?

Canada’s basic individual retirement plan is called a Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP). An RRSP account is available to anyone in Canada under the age of 71 with a Social Insurance Number and the investments you make into your RRSP accounts are tax-deductible. With RRSP plans, you can contribute up to a certain amount each year (called your RRSP deduction limit). Your funds then grow tax-free until retirement.

The only catch with RRSP accounts is if you choose to access those funds before you retire, you will have to pay taxes on them. There’s also another type of RRSP account, called locked-in RRSPs, which generally don’t allow you to withdraw funds before you retire.

The best part about RRSPs is you can choose to hold a variety of investment types, such as stocks, bonds, mutual funds, etc. depending on your goals. This ensures that the money you put aside for your retirement in the form of RRSPs is not depreciating with time, but growing in a tax-free manner thanks to your investments.

The maximum amount you can contribute to your RRSPs annually is fixed, and is known as your RRSP contribution limit. It’s calculated as 18% of your earned income for the previous year or the standard maximum annual contribution limit for the taxation year, which is $29,210 for 2022, whichever is lower.

Canada Old Age Security (OAS): What is OAS and do I qualify for it?

Canada Old Age Security or OAS is a Canadian government-regulated pension plan that depends on how long you’ve lived in Canada for after the age of 18. If you meet the eligibility criteria for OAS, you start receiving a fixed amount of benefits once you turn 65. The payment amount of this benefit depends on your age, marital status and level of income.

Unlike RRSPs, it’s considered taxable income and is subject to recovery tax if your net annual income is greater than the world income threshold for that particular year. Additionally, the OAS program is funded by the Government of Canada and you don’t “pay” directly into it—like you would for RRSPs or other pension plans. The best part about OAS is the government regularly reviews the plan to ensure the benefits you receive are at par with inflation.

Canada Pension Plan (CPP), Group RRSPs, and Registered Pension Plans (RPPs)

The Canada Pension Plan or the CPP is meant to replace a small portion of your income after you retire in Canada. It’s deducted from your income and the benefits you receive upon retirement depend on your pre-retirement income. It’s a government-regulated plan and you must be at least 60 years of age in order to start receiving payments under it. Similar to RRSPs, you need to apply to be eligible to receive CPP benefits.

Some employers offer various retirement plans and pensions, such as Registered Pension Plans (RPPs) and Group Registered Retirement Savings Plans (Group RRSPs). There are a few differences between each of these plans, but the general idea is that you and your employer will make contributions toward your retirement savings.

Regardless of which type of retirement account you choose to open, the important thing is that you have a retirement account in the first place. Having a dedicated, tax-advantaged account for your retirement savings will serve you well in the long term.

2. Calculate your retirement spending needs and income streams

We’ve already discussed the general 10 to 15% savings rule for retirement planning. But the reality is that most people’s financial situations are a bit more nuanced to have a single right answer to the question how much do you need to retire in Canada.

While saving 10 to 15% of your pre-tax income each year will usually get you to a good place financially before you retire, it’s worth taking the time to consider how much you’ll need to have saved up after you stop working. You’ll also want to consider the different sources of income you might have during retirement so that you’re able to more efficiently invest right now.

Many financial experts suggest that people should plan to have at least 70% of their current, pre-retirement annual income saved up before they retire. This means that if you currently make $100,000 a year, you’ll want to have about $70,000 per year saved up in your retirement account.

The reason for this is simple: Many people in retirement end up spending more on things like travel and recreation, but they often have fewer expenses, like a mortgage or recurring investments. Additionally, you can also expect funds from either the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) or the Quebec Pension Plan (QPP) to make up for a part of your lost income.

Trying to save enough money to replace 70% of your income in retirement can feel daunting. So a better place to start might be answering the following questions:

  • What’s my current age and when do I plan to retire?

  • What’s my current annual income?

  • What expenses do I see in my post-retirement life?

  • How much money will I need annually to take care of those expenses?

Once you have rough answers for all these questions, you can start to break down your total amount into annual goals, and then into monthly saving goals.  Remember that you may have other sources of income available to you beyond your RRSP and the CPP. You might have a Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA), rental income, or access to a Canadian Armed Forces Pension plan. You can figure all of these other sources of income into your total retirement savings plan.

3. Understand your time horizon

Retirement planning is all about taking advantage of the power of compound interest. But in order to maximize the benefit of compound interest, you need to start your retirement fund investment strategy as soon as possible.

For recent university graduates and other twenty-somethings, a forty or fifty-year time horizon is plenty of time for even a modest initial investment to grow into a fantastic nest egg. But if you’re well into your professional career and haven’t started saving for retirement yet, you may need to be more aggressive with your savings.

The amount of time you have between now and your ideal retirement age will greatly affect how you invest the funds within your RRSP and other accounts.

Younger people with longer time horizons are more likely to benefit from higher-risk, higher-reward investments, like stocks and even crypto. Meanwhile, older professionals may opt for a higher proportion of lower-risk investments, like bonds, in their portfolios.

Understanding your time horizon is an essential part of retirement planning. If you’re new to investing or you want help selecting the right investment products for your needs, consider working with a qualified financial planner or financial advisor.

4. Maximize your contributions & tax breaks

Retirement planning is a marathon, not a sprint. If you want compound interest to work in your favour, you need to take advantage of your tax-exempt saving plans and your retirement accounts by contributing to them as frequently as you can.

While everyone’s financial situation limits their investment abilities to some degree, it’s worth making a serious effort to contribute a sizable chunk of your income to your retirement account each month. While 10 to 15% of your current pre-tax income might not be feasible for everyone, any amount you can contribute now will pay dividends down the line.

Keep in mind that there are maximum contribution amounts to most tax-advantaged retirement accounts in Canada. RRSP and Group RRSP contributions are usually limited to about 18% of your previous year’s income. The more you can contribute up to this limit, the better, especially if you have a Group RRSP with employer matching contributions.

If you find that you often max out on your RRSP contributions each year, you might also consider opening a TFSA as an additional investment strategy. TFSA maximum contribution limits vary from year to year, but it’s currently at around $6,000 and should increase every two years.

Maximizing your annual contributions isn’t just about saving for retirement, though. Most retirement plans also provide you with tax breaks for every dollar you contribute. That means you can save for retirement and lower your current tax bill, all at the same time.

5. Assess your progress regularly

No good retirement savings strategy is complete without frequent progress check-ins. If you’re an avid investor on top of the changes to the stock market, monitoring your RRSP’s performance and managing your investment portfolio might not be time consuming for you.

But even if you’re not normally in stocks and bonds, it’s worth reviewing your retirement plan’s performance on a quarterly basis.

Regularly checking in on how well your various investments are doing puts you in a better position to make changes if a certain asset is under-performing. Additionally, if your personal situation changes, you may need to reevaluate your savings plan. A change in job, moving to a new city, the birth of a child, or other major life events can affect how much you can realistically save.

If you just set and forget your retirement investment portfolio, your investments might unknowingly veer off-track. The closer you are to retirement age, the more important these check-ins become.

Final thoughts: How to make it easy to plan for your retirement in Canada

While there’s no one good answer to how much Canadians should save for retirement, most people should aim to invest at least 10 to 15% of their pre-tax income in an RRSP or similar tax-advantaged account.

Saving for retirement is all about investing early and often so that you can take advantage of compound interest. Additionally, regularly checking in on your retirement plan’s progress can help ensure that your investments stay on-track for growth in the long-term. This can increase the chances that you have more than enough saved up to live comfortably in retirement.

Note: KOHO product information and/or features may have been updated since this blog post was published. Please refer to our Subscription Plans page for our most up to date account information!

Gaby Pilson

Gaby Pilson is a writer, educator, travel guide, and lover of all things personal finance. She’s passionate about helping people feel empowered to take control of their financial lives by making investing, budgeting, and money-saving resources accessible to everyone.

Recent Articles

How long does collection stay on your credit report in Canada?

How Long does Bankruptcy Stay on your Credit Report in Canada?

How long does a consumer proposal stay on your record?

Who Pays for a First Date?

Who determines interest rates in Canada?

What is stagflation?

Related articles

How long does collection stay on your credit report in Canada?

3 mins

KOHO

Learn how long collections stay on your credit report in Canada and how to get them removed through debt settlement. Understand the importance of maintaining a good credit score and how it affects your ability to get credit.

How long does collection stay on your credit report in Canada?

3 mins

KOHO

Learn how long collections stay on your credit report in Canada and how to get them removed through debt settlement. Understand the importance of maintaining a good credit score and how it affects your ability to get credit.

#credit building

#credit score

#collections

#debt

logo.koho

Company

AboutAffiliatesCareersCultureGamerLearnPartnersTravelStatus

Connect

The KOHO Mastercard® Prepaid card is issued by KOHO Financial Inc. pursuant to license by Mastercard International Incorporated. Mastercard and the circles design are registered trademarks of Mastercard International Incorporated.

By using this website, you accept our Terms and Conditions. Follow these links for more information on our Privacy Policy, Accessibility Policy and Multi-Year Accessibility Plan. © 2023 KOHO Financial Inc.