Lecture de 5 minutes

Quels sont les différents types de pensions?

En résumé

  • Il existe trois principaux types de pensions pour les Canadiens. Certains garantissent un revenu pendant la retraite, d'autres offrent un plus grand contrôle sur les investissements.

  • Vous pouvez obtenir des régimes de pension auprès de votre employeur, du gouvernement et/ou par vos propres moyens.

  • Une combinaison de différents comptes de pension et de retraite, associée à un budget complet, est la combinaison parfaite pour vous assurer d'atteindre vos objectifs.

Les pensions sont un outil essentiel dans la boîte à outils de la planification de la retraite. Elles fournissent un revenu défini pour le reste de votre vie en fonction du nombre d'années que vous avez cotisées et de la date à laquelle vous commencez à recevoir des versements. Les pensions sont également assujetties à des réglementations strictes qui protègent les consommateurs, de sorte que vous pouvez calculer et planifier les versements de pension à perpétuité.

Mais saviez-vous qu'il existe différents types de régimes de pension? Il existe également différents lieux où l'on peut obtenir des pensions et plusieurs réglementations qui régissent exactement la manière dont on y accède et dont on en profite.

On pourrait penser qu'un outil aussi crucial pour le bien-être à long terme des Canadiens est un processus simple et direct. Malheureusement, les pensions sont souvent entourées d'un nuage de termes confus. Voyons si nous pouvons démystifier certaines des options qui s'offrent à vous.

Tout d'abord, qu'est-ce qu'une pension?

Un régime de pension est un type de régime de retraite qui oblige les employeurs à cotiser à un fonds qui est versé aux employés à un âge donné. Techniquement, tout type de compte offrant un paiement fixe au moment de la retraite est appelé pension. Toutefois, l'usage courant du terme recommande un régime à prestations définies (nous y reviendrons plus loin) dans le cadre duquel le salarié reçoit un montant fixe chaque mois au moment de la retraite.

Une pension est souvent assortie de règles spécifiques d'acquisition ou d'admissibilité. Lorsqu'une entreprise contribue à un régime de pension, elle peut définir le temps que le salarié doit passer dans l'entreprise pour être éligible. Par exemple, un salarié peut être admissible à une pension après une année d'emploi. S'il quitte l'entreprise dans les cinq années qui suivent, il peut n'être éligible qu'à 10 % des paiements de pension. Après dix années, il peut avoir droit à 50 %. Si l'employé effectue lui-même les versements à la pension, il sera éligible à 100 % de celle-ci, quelle que soit sa durée d'emploi.

Les pensions viennent soit du gouvernement, soit de sources privées (là encore, plus d'informations à ce sujet ci-dessous). Cette distinction est importante car les fonds de pension provenant de certaines pensions publiques ne sont pas imposables, tout comme l'aide publique.

Les pensions provenant du RPC ou du RRQ sont imposables l'année où vous les recevez. Les sources privées ne sont pas imposées lorsqu'elles sont déposées et sont imposables au moment du décaissement.

Lien d'inscription à KOHO

Les pensions, c'est bien, mais est-ce que toutes les entreprises en proposent?

Non. Les pensions traditionnelles sont excellentes pour le salarié, mais moins pour l'employeur. L'employeur finit par s'engager à verser un certain montant à tous ses employés, indépendamment de leurs performances.

C'est pourquoi les régimes de pension à contribution directe sont très populaires. Cette option permet à l'employé de savoir exactement ce qu'il cotise, mais pas le montant exact qu'il touchera à la retraite. De plus, le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), ou le Régime de rentes du Québec, est toujours populaire auprès de nombreuses personnes. Le salarié doit cotiser pendant ses années de travail et se voir garantir environ 25 % de son revenu à la retraite. Ce régime, associé à une retraite privée, permet généralement d'obtenir des revenus relativement stables.

La responsabilité de la retraite est passée de l'entreprise à l'employé, d'où l'essor des comptes de retraite personnels.

« Prenez votre retraite en main. »

Quels sont les types de pensions?

Régimes de pension à prestations déterminées

Les Régimes de pension à prestations déterminées sont ceux qui perdent généralement la faveur des employeurs, car ils ont tendance à être coûteux et très peu flexibles. En général, les salariés apprécient les régimes à prestations déterminées parce qu'ils leur permettent de calculer exactement le montant qu'ils recevront à la retraite. Il vous suffit de faire la moyenne de vos cinq meilleures années de salaire, de la multiplier par le facteur convenu et d'indiquer le nombre d'années de service.

Par exemple, un employeur peut proposer un régime de pension qui accorde 2 % par année de service sur la moyenne des cinq meilleures années de salaire.

Ainsi, si la moyenne des salaires est de 100 000 $ et que vous avez travaillé dans l'entreprise pendant 20 ans, vous pouvez vous attendre à recevoir 40 000 $ par année et ces 40 000 $ sont garantis pour toute votre vie. De plus, il est généralement possible d'étendre la pension aux conjoints moyennant des frais.

Il convient toutefois de garder à l'esprit un certain nombre de points. Tout d'abord, la plupart des entreprises ont des exigences très strictes. Les salariés qui travaillent pour une entreprise pendant une période plus courte auront une pension plus modeste. Additionnellement, le salarié n'a que très peu de contrôle sur l'investissement lui-même. Avec l'avènement d'Internet et la facilité avec laquelle les consommateurs peuvent prendre en charge leurs investissements, les régimes de retraite à prestations définies sont devenus tout à fait obsolètes.

Régimes de pension à cotisations déterminées

Les Régimes de pension à cotisations déterminées retirent le risque à l'employeur et le placent carrément sur le dos de l'employé. Dans ce cas, l'employé verse chaque mois ou chaque année un certain pourcentage de son salaire sur un compte de retraite. Les investissements dans votre compte sont entièrement gérés par l'employé. L'employeur propose souvent d'associer l'employé à sa cotisation, par exemple à hauteur de 100 %, jusqu'à concurrence de 3 % du salaire annuel.

Cependant, il y a aussi des risques. Les salariés s'occupent eux-mêmes de tous les investissements et il est possible qu'ils survivent à l'argent.

Lien d'inscription à KOHO

Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER)

Un REER peut être parrainé par l'employeur ou privé. La version parrainée par l'employeur est assez similaire aux Régimes de pension à cotisations déterminées, mais présente quelques différences quant au montant et au moment des retraits. L'employeur peut toujours associer des fonds au compte et offrir d'autres avantages. Si vous décidez d’explorer cette voie, assurez-vous simplement de respecter les limites établies par la loi pour les cotisations de retraite.

Options du gouvernement

Le gouvernement canadien propose également le Régime de pensions du Canada. Il est destiné à remplacer une petite partie de vos revenus pendant la retraite, mais ne doit pas être considéré comme une solution totale. Les prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), conçues pour les personnes qui ne disposent pas d'un revenu de retraite suffisant, constituent une autre option. En outre, le gouvernement offre des versements du Supplément de revenu garanti (SRG) aux personnes âgées à faible revenu, en conjonction avec les prestations de la SV.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus et faire une demande dans votre compte Mon dossier Service Canada.

La sécurité financière peut être un sujet difficile à comprendre. À la fin de la journée, vous devrez vous assurer d’atteindre vos objectifs actuels tout en planifiant votre retraite. Les meilleurs conseils que nous ayons reçus? Prenez votre retraite en main. Comprenez les options qui s’offrent à vous, cotisez aux régimes de pension et de retraite qui correspondent à vos objectifs financiers et prenez en charge votre propre vie après le travail.

Remarque : Les renseignements et/ou les caractéristiques des produits KOHO peuvent avoir été mis à jour depuis la publication de cet article. Veuillez consulter la page des forfaits KOHO pour y trouver les informations les plus récentes sur nos comptes!

Dan Bucherer

Dan est un coureur et un écrivain vivant dans la région de Washington, D.C., où il travaille actuellement comme directeur des communications pour une association professionnelle de services financiers.

Back to learn

What are the different types of pensions?

Rounding it up

  • There are three main types of pensions available to Canadians; some guarantee income during your retirement, others offer more control over the investments.

  • You can get pension plans from your employer, from the government, and/or on your own.

  • A mix of different pension and retirement accounts, combined with a comprehensive budget, is the best way to ensure you meet your goals.

5 min read

Dan Bucherer
#retirement#pension#RRSP#DBPP#DCPP

Pensions are a critical device in the retirement planning toolbox. They provide a defined income for the remainder of your life based upon the number of years you’ve paid in and when you begin taking disbursements. Pensions are also subject to stiff regulations that protect consumers, so you can calculate and plan on pension disbursements in perpetuity.

But did you know that there are different types of pension plans? There are also various places to get pensions and several regulations that govern exactly how you access and take advantage of them.

You’d think such a crucial tool for the long-term well-being of Canadians would be an easy, straightforward process. Unfortunately, pensions are often shrouded in a misty cloud of confusing terms. Let’s see if we can demystify some of these options available to you.

First of all, what is a pension?

A pension plan is a type of retirement plan that requires employers to pay into a fund that is disbursed to employees at a set age. Technically, any type of account that offers a set payment at retirement is called a pension. However, the common use of the word refers to a defined benefit plan (we’ll get into this below) where the employee receives a set payment each month in retirement.

A pension often has specific vesting, or eligibility rules, as well. When a company contributes to a pension, they can define the length of an employee’s time at the company to qualify. For example, an employee may become eligible to participate in a pension after a year of employment. If they leave within five years, they may only qualify for 10% of pension payments. After ten years, they may be entitled to 50%. If the employee makes payments to the pension themselves, they’d qualify for 100% of it, regardless of tenure.

Pensions come from either the government or private sources (again, more on this below). This distinction is important because pension funds that come from some government pensions are non-taxable, like government assistance.

Pensions that come from the CPP or QPP are taxable in the year you receive them. Private sources are not taxed when deposited and are taxable at the disbursement stage.

Pensions sound great — do all companies provide them?

Nope. Traditional pensions end up being great for the employee but not so much for the employer. The employer ends up committing to pay out a certain amount for all their employees, regardless of performance.

Consequently, Direct Contribution Pension Plans are very popular. This option allows the employee to know exactly what they’re contributing but not the exact number they’ll get to draw at retirement. Additionally, The Canadian Pension Plan — or Quebec Pension Plan — is still popular with many. It requires the employee to pay during their working years and be guaranteed about 25% of their income in retirement. This, along with private retirement, generally provides fairly stable earnings.

The onus for retirement has shifted from the company to the employee and thus, the rise of personal retirement accounts.

"Take your retirement into your own hands."

What types of pensions are there?

Defined benefit pension plans (DBPP)

Defined benefit pension plans are the ones generally falling out of favour with employers, as they tend to be expensive and very inflexible. Typically, employees love DBPP for the ability to  calculate exactly how much you’ll be receiving in retirement. All you need to do is average your five best years of salary, multiply it by the agreed-upon factor, combined with how many years of service.

For example, an employer may offer a pension plan that gives 2% per year of service on the average of the five best years of salary.

So, if the average of the salaries is $100,000 and you worked at the company for 20 years, you can expect to receive $40,000 per year — and that $40,000 is guaranteed for your entire life. Additionally, you can usually extend the pension to spouses for a fee.

There are a few things to keep in mind here, however. First, most companies have a very rigid set of requirements. Employees who work for a company for a shorter time period will have a smaller pension. Additionally, the employee has very little control over the investment itself. The advent of the internet and the ease with which consumers can invest on their own has resulted in DBPPs becoming quite outdated.

Defined contribution pension plans (DCPP)

Defined contribution pension plans take the risk from the employer and puts it squarely with the employee. Here, the employee will direct a certain percentage of their salary each month or year to a retirement account. The investments of that account are managed entirely by the employee. The employer will often offer to match the employee’s contribution; say 100% up to 3% of annual salary.

However, there are risks here as well. Employees take care of all the investing themselves and it’s possible for the employee to outlive the money.

Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP)

An RRSP can be both employer-sponsored and private. The employer-sponsored version is quite similar to DCPP plans, but offers some differences of how much and when you can withdraw. Employers can still offer matching and other benefits to the account. If you decide to explore this route, just be sure that you stay under the limits set by law for retirement contributions.

Government options

The Canadian government also offers the Canada Pension Plan. It is intended to replace a small portion of your income during retirement but should not be considered a total solution. Another option is the Old Age Security (OAS) benefits, designed for individuals who do not have enough retirement income. On top of that, the government offers Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS) payments for low-income seniors in conjunction with OAS benefits.

You can learn more and apply via your My Service Canada Account.

Financial security can be a difficult topic to wrap your head around. At the end of the day, you’ll want to ensure you are crushing your present goals, while still planning ahead for retirement. The best advice we’ve come across? Take your retirement into your own hands. Understand the options you have available, contribute to the pension and retirement accounts that align with your financial goals, and take charge of your own post-work life.

Dan Bucherer

Dan is a runner and writer living in the Washington, D.C. area, where he currently works for a financial services trade association as the Communications Director.

Recent Articles

What should new Canadian residents look for in a credit card?

Does your credit score matter for Canadian immigration?

Should new Canadian residents get a debit or credit card?

What are the most common credit card perks?

What financial benefits can new immigrants get in Canada?

What are high interest savings accounts?

Related articles

How much money do you need to start a retirement account?

4 mins

Jordan T. Hedberg

It’s important to avoid getting caught up in the pool of retirement savings advice. Instead, start by saving up and paying off debt.

How much money do you need to start a retirement account?

4 mins

Jordan T. Hedberg

It’s important to avoid getting caught up in the pool of retirement savings advice. Instead, start by saving up and paying off debt.

#retirement

#savings

#RRSP

#debt

Company

AboutCareersCultureLearnPartnersStatus

Connect

The KOHO Visa* Prepaid card is issued by Peoples Trust Company pursuant to license by Visa Int. *Trademark of Visa Int., used under license. **These services are provided by Service Providers, including Visa, Peoples Trust Company and Galileo Processing. Learn more about your finances with Visa Practical Money Skills.