Lecture de 5 minutes

Qu'est-ce que les services bancaires marginaux?

En résumé

  • Les services bancaires marginaux sont les magasins de prêts sur salaire, les prêteurs sur gages et tous les autres établissements financiers qui facturent des taux d'intérêt beaucoup plus élevés que la moyenne pour leurs services.

  • Ils s'attaquent aux exclus financiers, qui sont en grande partie des communautés à faibles revenus n'ayant pas accès aux institutions bancaires traditionnelles.

  • Heureusement, il y a eu des efforts pour corriger l’exclusion financière, comme dans le cas des « Banker Ladies » de Toronto.

  • Pour obtenir des progrès systémiques, le gouvernement doit travailler avec la communauté bancaire et les coopératives d'épargne et de crédit afin de trouver des solutions pour servir la population marginalisée.

Emprunter. Accumuler des intérêts. Rembourser. Répéter.

Les utilisateurs de services de prêt marginaux se retrouvent souvent coincés dans ce cycle. Vous contractez un petit prêt pour couvrir une dépense et lorsque vous avez suffisamment d'argent pour le rembourser, les intérêts se sont tellement accumulés que vous devez maintenant beaucoup plus que ce que vous avez emprunté au départ. En fait, les prêteurs marginaux ont admis que la plupart de leurs profits viennent des utilisateurs réguliers qui contractent d'autres prêts pour rembourser les précédents.

Alors, pourquoi les gens ont-ils recours aux services bancaires marginaux? Voyons cela de plus près et analysons-le ensemble.

L'exclusion financière au Canada

L’exclusion financière est un problème social qui fait référence au manque d’accès des collectivités à faible revenu à des services financiers réglementés et appropriés. Selon Mme Laura Lamb, professeure d’économie à l’Université Thompson Rivers, les personnes financièrement exclues appartiennent à deux catégories, soit les personnes non bancarisées et les personnes sous-bancarisées.

Les banques non bancaires sont celles qui n’ont pas de comptes dans les banques traditionnelles. Trois pour cent de la population, soit environ un million de Canadiens, n’ont pas de banque.

Les personnes sous-bancarisées, quant à elles, sont celles qui entretiennent généralement une relation avec les banques, mais qui sont encore considérées comme exclues financièrement en raison d'un manque d'accès à tous les services dont elles ont besoin, en particulier au crédit. Près de cinq millions de Canadiens, soit 15 %, sont sous-bancarisés.

L’exclusion financière comporte trois éléments importants : les opérations bancaires, le choix des citoyens et la politique gouvernementale. Les opérations bancaires sont souvent menées par des objectifs de profit. Que peuvent-elles faire pour faire le plus d’argent possible? Cette méthode semble fonctionner pour eux : en 2015, les six plus grandes banques au Canada (TD, BMO, RBC, Banque Scotia, CIBC et Banque Nationale) ont généré 35 milliards de dollars de profits, comparativement à 29 milliards de dollars en 2013.

Cependant, ce désir de profit entraîne l’exclusion de communautés déjà vulnérables. Les membres de ces groupes ont souvent besoin de crédit ou de services de prêt, mais sont considérés comme présentant un « risque plus élevé » par les institutions bancaires traditionnelles qui doutent de leur capacité à rembourser. N’ayant nulle part d’autre où aller, les exclus financiers se tournent vers les établissements financiers marginaux.

« L’exclusion financière est un problème social qui fait référence au manque d’accès des collectivités à faible revenu à des services financiers réglementés et appropriés. »

Parlons des services bancaires marginaux

Qu'est-ce que les services bancaires marginaux? Il s'agit des entreprises de prêt sur salaire, des prêteurs sur gages et des compagnies de prêts à tempérament. Ces institutions offrent des services financiers qui pratiquent des taux d'intérêt beaucoup plus élevés que les institutions financières réglementées, comme les grandes banques ou les coopératives de crédit. Malgré ces taux, la demande de services marginaux n'a cessé d'augmenter au fil des années. Le pourcentage de Canadiens ayant eu recours à des prêts sur salaire, par eux-mêmes ou par l'intermédiaire d'un membre de leur famille, a bondi de 1,9 % en 2009 à 4,3 % en 2015.

En fait, la demande a tellement augmenté qu'il y a actuellement plus de magasins de prêts sur salaire au Canada que de Pharmaprix. Prenons le temps de nous en rendre compte, parce que... wow.

Pourquoi tant de gens utilisent-ils ces services s'ils sont assurés d'accumuler tous ces frais additionnels et ces intérêts? La triste réalité est que de nombreuses banques traditionnelles ont fermé leurs portes dans les communautés à faibles revenus, laissant un vide que les établissements bancaires marginaux se sont empressés de combler. « Ils ont trouvé un créneau sur le marché qui n'était pas desservi », explique Mme Lamb. Et si ces services ne sont pas nécessairement bons, la société se porterait moins bien sans eux. Les personnes à faible revenu, et souvent racialisées, ont besoin de services financiers comme n'importe qui d'autre, peut-être même davantage et elles ont besoin d'un endroit où aller.

Les services bancaires marginaux sont aussi parfois associés à des services financiers informels proposés par la famille, les amis et/ou les commerçants locaux. Les « Banker Ladies », des femmes afro-canadiennes de Toronto qui ont mis en place des associations d'épargne et de crédit différés gérées par la communauté, en sont un exemple. Ces groupes bancaires axés sur les pairs trouvent leur origine dans les racines du racisme et de l'oppression qui continuent à se développer dans les institutions bancaires traditionnelles. Après s'être heurtées à l'exclusion et à l'hostilité des banques chaque fois qu'elles s'y rendaient pour effectuer une quelconque transaction, ces « Banker Ladies » ont organisé leurs propres services bancaires.

Lien d'inscription à KOHO

Comment les banques traditionnelles contribuent-elles au problème?

Les « Banker Ladies » sont l'un des nombreux exemples à travers le pays de la façon dont les banques traditionnelles ont poussé les membres des communautés à faibles revenus à s'éloigner des services réglementés et à se tourner vers les services financiers informels.

Kenzie Hofauer, étudiante en esthétique du Collège Seneca, a connu différents problèmes liés à l’inaccessibilité et à l’hostilité de sa banque au cours des derniers mois seulement. Tout récemment, une confusion avec son lieu de travail a entraîné le rebond d’un chèque qu’elle a déposé. Elle a appelé sa banque dans l’espoir de régler le problème et d’annuler les frais imputés à son compte en raison du chèque retourné, mais elle a plutôt été pressée par l’appel téléphonique de la représentante du Service à la clientèle.

« [La représentante] ne collaborait pas du tout et ne semblait pas vraiment vouloir rester au téléphone avec moi et m’aider à comprendre », explique Mme Hofauer. « J’ai donc décidé de mettre fin à ma conversation téléphonique avec elle… elle n’était tout simplement pas très utile en général. »

Mme Hofauer a indiqué qu’elle a été confrontée à un service hostile au téléphone et lorsqu’elle se rend en personne à la banque, souvent mise en attente ou non prise au sérieux. « Peut-être parce que j’ai l’air jeune et que j’ai un enfant, je me fais juger pour cela aussi. Peut-être que je n’ai tout simplement pas l’air d’avoir beaucoup d’argent et ils peuvent voir de toute évidence combien d’argent vous avez dans votre compte lorsque vous entrez, je ne sais pas. »

Les recherches menées par Mme Lamb en 2015 ont révélé qu'un nombre disproportionnellement plus élevé d'autochtones avait recours à des établissements financiers marginaux par rapport à l'ensemble de la population. La faiblesse des revenus n'est pas la seule raison de ce phénomène. Un facteur additionnel était la discrimination à laquelle les autochtones doivent faire face lorsqu'ils entrent dans les banques. Un autre facteur est le manque d'accès aux établissements bancaires dans les communautés autochtones et les réserves, qui a conduit à une culture de recours aux établissements financiers marginaux comme seul moyen d'obtenir des services financiers. Ce système d'oppression géographique contribue à ce que les utilisateurs autochtones des services marginaux aient des niveaux de capacité financière plus faibles.

« La triste réalité est que de nombreuses banques traditionnelles ont fermé leurs portes dans les communautés à faible revenu, laissant un vide que les établissements bancaires marginaux se sont empressés de combler. »

En gros, tout est terrible et l'argent est une arnaque?

Il est difficile de ne pas se sentir comme ça parfois, mais non! Par les solutions novatrices proposées par des organisations comme les « Banker Ladies » de Toronto que là où les banques traditionnelles et les services bancaires marginaux profitent des groupes vulnérables, des efforts pour rectifier la situation sont en place. De plus, des entreprises de technologie financière modernes et axées sur le client travaillent d'arrache-pied pour bâtir de meilleurs outils financiers et capacités financières pour tous les Canadiens. Par exemple, l'approche numérique avant tout de KOHO élimine tout risque d'exclusion géographique, de sorte que tout le monde peut s'inscrire à un compte, où qu'il se trouve.

Pourtant, il est difficile de voir la lumière au bout du tunnel lorsque ces grandes institutions ont longtemps joué un rôle important dans l'oppression systémique des communautés marginalisées.

« Il faut développer des services viables », dit Mme Lamb. Pour ce faire, il faudrait que le gouvernement intervienne d’une façon ou d’une autre en collaborant avec les membres de la communauté bancaire et les coopératives de crédit pour élaborer des services axés sur des solutions qui peuvent servir les secteurs marginalisés de notre société.

Remarque : Les renseignements et/ou les caractéristiques des produits KOHO peuvent avoir été mis à jour depuis la publication de cet article. Veuillez consulter la page des forfaits KOHO pour y trouver les informations les plus récentes sur nos comptes!

Sukaina Jamil

Sukaina Jamil est rédactrice pigiste et spécialiste des communications. Elle a déjà écrit et travaillé pour The Book and Periodical Council, Review of Journalism et Kaleidoscope.

Back to learn

What is fringe banking?

Rounding it up

  • Fringe banking is payday loan shops, pawn shops, and any other financial institution that charges much higher-than-average rates of interest on their services.

  • They prey on the financially excluded, who are largely low-income communities that do not have access to mainstream banking institutions.

  • Fortunately, there have been efforts to rectify financial exclusion, like Toronto’s “Banker Ladies.”

  • For systemic improvements, the government must work with the banking community and credit unions to develop solutions to serve the marginalized population.

5 min read

Sukaina Jamil
#banking#fringe banking#payday loan#discrimination

Borrow. Accumulate interest. Repay. Repeat.

Users of fringe lending services often find themselves stuck in this cycle. You take out a small loan to cover an expense, and by the time you have enough to pay it back, the interest charges have stacked up so high that you now owe much more than what you initially borrowed. In fact, fringe lenders have admitted that most of their profits come from repeat users who take out more loans in order to pay off previous ones.

So, exactly why do people use fringe banking services? Let’s dive in and break it down together.

Financial exclusion in Canada

Financial exclusion is a social problem that refers to the lack of access lower income communities have to regulated, appropriate financial services. According to Dr. Laura Lamb, a professor of economics at Thompson Rivers University, the financially excluded fall under two categories: the unbanked and the underbanked.

The unbanked consist of those who do not have accounts at traditional, mainstream banks. Three percent of the nation, or around one million Canadians, are unbanked.

The underbanked, on the other hand, are those who typically have some sort of a relationship with banks but are still considered financially excluded due to a lack of access to all of the services that they require, particularly to credit. Almost five million Canadians, or 15 percent, are underbanked.

There are three important elements to financial exclusion: banking operations, citizen’s choice, and government policy. Banking operations are often led by profit-oriented goals — what can they do in order to make the most money possible? This method seems to be working for them; In 2015, the six largest banks in Canada (TD, BMO, RBC, Scotiabank, CIBC and National Bank) generated $35 billion in profits, up from $29 billion in 2013.

However, this profit-driven desire results in the exclusion of already vulnerable communities. People from these groups are often in need of credit or loan services, but are considered to be a “higher risk” by mainstream banking institutions that doubt their ability to pay back. With nowhere else to go, the financially excluded turn to fringe financial institutions.

"Financial exclusion is a social problem that refers to the lack of access lower income communities have to regulated, appropriate financial services."

Let’s talk about fringe banks

So, what is fringe banking? They’re payday loan shops, pawn shops, and installment loan companies. These institutions offer financial services that charge much higher interest rates compared to regulated financial institutions, like big banks or credit unions. Despite these rates, the demand for fringe services has been steadily rising over the years. The percentage of Canadians who have made use of payday loans — either by themselves or through a family member — jumped from 1.9 percent in 2009 to 4.3 percent in 2015.

In fact, the demand has increased so much that there are currently more payday loan shops in Canada than Shoppers Drug Marts. Let’s just take a second to let that sink in, because… wow.

Why are so many people using these services if they’re guaranteed to accumulate all of these additional fees and interest charges? The unfortunate reality is that many mainstream banks have shut down in low-income communities, leaving a void that fringe banking institutions quickly swooped in to fill. “They found a spot in the market that wasn’t being serviced,” says Lamb.  And while these services are not necessarily good, society would be worse off without them.  Individuals from lower income — and often racialized — backgrounds are in need of financial services just like anyone else, perhaps even more so, and they need somewhere to go.

Fringe banking is also sometimes associated with informal financial services that are offered by family, friends, and/or local retailers. An example of these are “Banker Ladies,” Toronto’s African Canadian Women who’ve established community-driven Rotating Savings and Credit Associations. These peer-focused banking groups stem from roots of racism and oppression that continue to grow in traditional banking institutions. After encountering exclusionary and hostile behaviour from banks whenever they would go to carry out any form of transaction, these “Banker Ladies” organized their own banking services instead.

How do mainstream banks contribute to the problem?

“Banker Ladies” are one of many examples across the country of how mainstream banks have pushed members of low-income communities away from regulated services and towards informal financial services.

Kenzie Hofauer, an esthetician student at Seneca College, experienced different issues surrounding inaccessibility and hostility from her bank in the past few months alone. Just recently, a mix-up with her workplace caused a cheque she deposited to bounce. She called her bank, hoping to clear up the issue and reverse the charges made to her account due to the bounced cheque, but was instead rushed through the phone call by the customer service representative.

“[The representative] wasn’t being cooperative at all and didn't really seem like she wanted to stay on the phone with me and help me figure it out,” says Hofauer. “So I ended up getting off the phone with her … she just wasn't very helpful in general.”

Hofauer expressed that she’s been met with hostile service both on the phone and when she goes in-person to the bank, often being put on hold or not taken seriously. “Maybe because I look young and I have a child, they judge me for that too. Maybe I just don't look like I have a lot of money, and they can see obviously how much money you have in your account when you come in, I don’t know.”

Lamb’s research in 2015 found that a disproportionately higher number of Indigenous people were using fringe financial institutions as compared to the general population. Here, low income was not the only reason why. An additional factor was the discrimination Indigenous people have to face when walking into banks. Another was the lack of access to banking institutions in Indigenous communities and reserves that have led to a culture of relying on fringe banks as an only means of financial services. This system of geographical oppression contributes to Indigenous users of fringe services having lower levels of financial capability.

"The unfortunate reality is that many mainstream banks have shut down in low-income communities, leaving a void that fringe banking institutions quickly swooped in to fill."

So basically everything sucks and money is a scam?

It’s hard not to feel that way sometimes, but no! We can see through the innovative solutions by the likes of Toronto’s “Banker Ladies” that where traditional banks and fringe lending services are taking advantage of vulnerable groups, efforts to rectify the situation are in place. Additionally, modern, customer-driven fintech companies are working hard to build better banking for all Canadians. For example, KOHO’s digital-first approach eliminates any potential for geographical exclusion, so anyone can sign up for a banking account, wherever they are.

Still, it’s hard to see any light at the end of the tunnel when these larger institutions have long played a strong role in enforcing systemic oppression in marginalized communities.

“There’s a need for the development of viable services,” says Lamb. For this to happen, the government would need to be involved in some way by working with members of the banking community and credit unions to develop solutions-based services that can serve the marginalized sectors of our society.

Sukaina Jamil

Sukaina Jamil is a freelance writer and communications specialist. She has previously written and worked for The Book and Periodical Council, [ ] Review of Journalism and Kaleidoscope.

Recent Articles

3 Character traits of financially successful peopleAre ETFs a risky investment?Can Canadians invest in US stocks and bonds?A quick guide to socially responsible investing7 Red flags the financial advice you’re receiving is not in your best interestFinancial planner, advisor, or coach: What’s the difference?

Related articles

The gender pay gap — alive and well, unfortunately

7 mins

Chrissy Kapralos

Women are more educated and employed than ever, but we still have a long way to go to bridge the gender pay gap.

The gender pay gap — alive and well, unfortunately

7 mins

Chrissy Kapralos

Women are more educated and employed than ever, but we still have a long way to go to bridge the gender pay gap.

#pay

#pay gap

#discrimination

#gender pay gap

Company

AboutCareersLearnPartnersStatus

Connect

The KOHO Visa* Prepaid card is issued by Peoples Trust Company pursuant to license by Visa Int. *Trademark of Visa Int., used under license. **These services are provided by Service Providers, including Visa, Peoples Trust Company and Galileo Processing. Learn more about your finances with Visa Practical Money Skills.