Quel est le taux d'inflation au Canada?

Retour au blog

Quel est le taux d'inflation au Canada?

En résumé

  • Le taux d'inflation au Canada était de 0,72 % en 2020.

  • La Banque du Canada essaie de maintenir le taux d'inflation à 2 %.

  • Une inflation modérée est le signe d'une économie florissante, avec le plein emploi et des dépenses abondantes.

  • L'inflation encourage les consommateurs à acheter maintenant puisque la valeur du dollar va inévitablement diminuer.

Lecture de 5 minutes

Dan Bucherer
#inflation#taux d'inflation#économie

Un Coca-Cola glacé ne coûtait que 0,05 $ en 1921. Un siècle plus tard, le même Coca-Cola coûte, en moyenne, environ 2,75 $. Pourquoi cette augmentation? L'inflation. Vous avez probablement remarqué au cours de votre vie que votre argent durement gagné ne va plus aussi loin qu'avant. C'est un phénomène naturel dans le fonctionnement des économies modernes. Bien que cela puisse sembler regrettable (après tout, qui ne veut pas d'un Coke pour 5 cents?), une légère inflation signifie qu'une économie tourne presque à plein régime. Tous ceux qui veulent travailler peuvent trouver un emploi et les entreprises répartissent l'argent dans l'économie en achetant des produits et des services.

Mais comment fonctionne réellement l'inflation? Et quel est le taux d'inflation au Canada et pourquoi est-il important? Jetons un coup d'œil et voyons comment l'inflation peut vous affecter, vous et votre santé financière.

Qu'est-ce que l'inflation exactement?

En termes très simples, l'inflation est la mesure de la diminution du pouvoir d'achat de la monnaie pour un panier de biens donné sur une période donnée. C'est un résultat fondamental de l'offre et de la demande. C'est la raison pour laquelle le Coca-Cola dans notre exemple ci-dessus coûte beaucoup plus cher aujourd'hui qu'il y a un siècle. L'inflation est causée par une foule de raisons différentes et cela peut devenir compliqué. Toutefois, l'inflation est généralement causée par l'augmentation du coût des matières premières ou de la production à grande échelle.

Supposons, par exemple, que le coût du bois brut augmente parce qu'il y a moins d'entreprises qui coupent et scient ce bois pour le transformer en bois utilisable. Le bois est utilisé dans toutes sortes de choses, comme les maisons, les jouets, les planchers, les équipements, etc. La baisse de l'offre de bois entraîne une hausse du prix de la planche ou de la pièce, ce qui oblige les acheteurs à augmenter leurs prix également. Ces augmentations sont répercutées sur les consommateurs. En substance, il s'agit d'inflation.

En général, au fil des années, l'inflation est une bonne chose. Elle signifie qu'une économie se développe et fournit davantage de biens et de services. En revanche, une inflation soudaine, appelée hyperinflation, peut être un signe extrêmement inquiétant. Elle signifie que la valeur de la monnaie diminue et que les salaires sont incapables de suivre le rythme de la baisse rapide.

L'exemple le plus récent d'hyperinflation s'est produit au Venezuela en 2018. Le taux d'inflation était de 65 000 %. Cela signifie que le prix des biens a tellement augmenté que ce qui coûtait autrefois 1 $ coûtait soudainement 65 000 $. L'argent, par essence, était loin de valoir le papier sur lequel il était imprimé. Cela s'est produit parce que le gouvernement a imposé le prix des produits de base comme la nourriture et les médicaments. Malheureusement, le prix imposé était trop bas pour que les entreprises locales puissent rester en activité. Quand elles ont fermé, le gouvernement a importé les mêmes produits, ce qui a augmenté le prix. Avec la demande refoulée, les prix sont montés en flèche. Les habitants ont commencé à utiliser les œufs comme monnaie, car ils valaient plus que l'argent lui-même.

Lien d'inscription à KOHO

Quel est le taux d'inflation au Canada?

Pour donner une réponse simple, le taux d'inflation en 2020 était, en moyenne, de 0,72 %. Cela signifie qu'un produit qui coûtait 100 $ en 2019 coûtait 100,72 $ en 2020. Cet exemple est simpliste, mais il illustre le point que nous avons souligné plus haut : le pouvoir d'achat du dollar est légèrement inférieur.

La Banque du Canada est responsable de la politique monétaire et aide à gérer le taux d'inflation dans le pays. La banque est en mesure de gérer l'inflation en utilisant son pouvoir de prêt. Le taux auquel le gouvernement prête de l'argent aux banques privées, appelé taux d'intérêt préférentiel, dicte à son tour le taux auquel ces banques prêtent et les intérêts qu'elles paient. Les consommateurs empruntent alors pour financer de nouvelles entreprises, faire des achats importants, etc.

Si la banque veut augmenter l'inflation, elle peut baisser son taux d'intérêt. Cela a pour effet de mettre plus d'argent dans l'économie, car les banques emprunteront plus d'argent à un taux plus bas. Si l'inflation devient trop élevée, la banque durcira sa politique et augmentera le taux d'intérêt. À un taux d'intérêt plus élevé, les banques emprunteront moins, ce qui fera baisser la monnaie en circulation. La Banque du Canada annonce périodiquement son taux d'inflation cible, ce qui permet aux banques et aux entreprises de planifier à l'avance.

Que signifie l'inflation pour moi?

L'inflation est un phénomène de grande ampleur, mais elle a un impact profond sur votre vie quotidienne, que vous le sachiez ou non. Plus important encore, l'inflation a pour effet de favoriser les emprunts, les prêts et les dépenses. En effet, au sens large, nous savons que le dollar vaudra moins l'année prochaine que ce qu'il vaut aujourd'hui. Cela pousse le consommateur à faire des achats maintenant, en particulier dans des produits qui ne perdront pas de valeur.

Le marché immobilier est un excellent exemple de la valeur de l'inflation pour le consommateur moyen. En 1980, le prix moyen d'une maison au Canada était de 76 000 $. À peine neuf années plus tard, cette même maison valait près de 200 000 $. En 2020, cette même maison moyenne vous coûterait 930 000 $.

En bref, l'inflation est un peu une arme à double tranchant. Elle rend les choses plus chères et diminue la valeur du dollar dans votre poche (ou dans l'application portefeuille de votre téléphone). Ce n'est pas très bon. Mais elle augmente aussi la valeur des biens que vous possédez et des investissements que vous avez déjà. Nous avons parlé un peu du marché immobilier ci-dessus, mais les mêmes principes s'appliquent aux autres investissements. Si vous effectuez des achats en bourse, que ce soit à partir de votre compte de retraite ou d'autres comptes, et que vous conservez ces investissements, vous réaliserez des gains simplement en les prenant en charge. En effet, les intérêts perçus sur les placements ont tendance à être supérieurs à l'inflation. Les investissements dont les paiements sont fixes, comme les pensions, peuvent ne pas être aussi rentables parce que le même dollar n'achète pas autant au moment où il est retiré.

Au total, l'inflation souligne l'importance de diversifier son portefeuille entre toutes sortes d'investissements.

Lien d'inscription à KOHO

Conclusion

L'inflation peut être un avantage net pour les consommateurs, même si cela ne semble pas être le cas à première vue. L'augmentation douce et lente du coût des produits et des services signifie que l'économie tourne à plein régime. Elle encourage également les emprunts et les dépenses, ce qui favorise l'emploi. Des employés heureux et bien rémunérés dépensent de l'argent, et ainsi de suite. Bien que l'inflation soit une mesure de l'économie dans son ensemble, elle a un effet sur la vie quotidienne des Canadiens. En établissant et en respectant un budget, vous pourrez dépenser, épargner et investir en toute confiance, tout en tenant compte de l'inflation.

Dan Bucherer

Dan est un coureur et un écrivain vivant dans la région de Washington, D.C., où il travaille actuellement comme directeur des communications pour une association professionnelle de services financiers.

Articles récents

Comment survivre à une récession : guide pour tirer le meilleur parti de votre argent pendant une période difficile

Combien de temps durent les récessions économiques?

Guide cadeaux : l’amateur de technologie

Guide cadeaux : la mode, toujours la mode

Guide cadeaux : l’amour des voyages

Guide cadeaux : confort casanier

Articles connexes

Comment survivre à une récession : guide pour tirer le meilleur parti de votre argent pendant une période difficile

12 mins

Emily Keeler

Les récessions touchent tout le monde. Ne vous inquiétez pas, dans ce blogue nous partageons des conseils de finances personnelles spécifiques à ces périodes. Lisez la suite pour apprendre comment survivre à une récession.

Comment survivre à une récession : guide pour tirer le meilleur parti de votre argent pendant une période difficile

12 mins

Emily Keeler

Les récessions touchent tout le monde. Ne vous inquiétez pas, dans ce blogue nous partageons des conseils de finances personnelles spécifiques à ces périodes. Lisez la suite pour apprendre comment survivre à une récession.

#économie

#récession

#établir un budget

#épargne

logo.koho

Entreprise

À proposLes affiliésCarrièresCultureApprendreLes partenairesStatut

Ouvrir une session

La carte prépayée MastercardMD KOHO est émise par KOHO Financial Inc. en vertu d'une licence accordée par Mastercard International Incorporated. Mastercard et le concept des cercles sont des marques de commerce déposées de Mastercard International Incorporated.

En utilisant ce site Web, vous acceptez nos Conditions générales. Suivez ces liens pour en savoir plus sur notre Politique de confidentialité, Politique en matière d’accessibilité et notre Plan d'accessibilité pluriannuel. © 2022 KOHO Financial Inc.

Back to learn

What is the rate of inflation in Canada?

5 min read

Dan Bucherer
#inflation#inflation rate#economy
What is the rate of inflation in Canada?

Rounding it up

  • The rate of inflation in Canada was .72% in 2020

  • The Bank of Canada tries to keep the inflation rate at 2%

  • Gentle inflation is the sign of a thriving economy with full employment and plentiful spending

  • Inflation encourages consumers to buy now since the value of the dollar will inevitably decrease

An ice-cold Coca-Cola cost just $.05 in 1921. A century later the same coke costs, on average, about $2.75. Why the increase? Inflation. You likely have noticed over the course of your lifetime that your hard-earned dollar doesn’t go quite as far as it used to. This is a natural part of how modern economies work. While it may seem unfortunate (after all, who doesn’t want a coke for a nickel?), a small bit of inflation means that an economy is humming along at near full capacity. Everyone who wants to work can find a job and businesses are spreading money throughout the economy by buying products and services.

But how does inflation really work? And what even is the rate of inflation in Canada and why does it matter? Let’s take a look and see how inflation can affect you and your financial health.

What exactly is inflation?

In very simple terms, inflation is the measure of the decrease of purchasing power of currency for a given basket of goods over a period of time. It is a fundamental result of supply and demand. It’s the reason that the coke in our example above costs a whole heck of a lot more now than it did a century ago. Inflation is caused by a host of various reasons and it can get complicated. Inflation is generally caused, however, by the increase in the cost of raw materials or production on a large scale.

Let’s say, for example, that the cost of raw timber goes up because there are fewer companies doing the cutting and milling of that timber into usable wood. Wood is used in all sorts of things, such as houses, toys, floors, equipment, and more. Because the supply of wood has dropped, the price per board or piece goes up, causing those buying it to increase their prices as well. Those increases are passed along to consumers. In essence, this is inflation.

Generally, over the course of years, inflation is a good thing. It means that an economy is growing and delivering more goods and services. Sudden inflation, however, called hyperinflation, can be an extremely troubling sign that means the value of the currency is worth less and wages are unable to keep up with the rapid decline.

The most recent example of hyperinflation happened in Venezuela in 2018. The rate of inflation was 65,000%. This means that the price of goods shot up so much, that what once cost $1 suddenly cost $65,000. The money, in essence, wasn’t worth nearly the paper on which it was printed. This happened because the government mandated the price of staples like food and medicine. Unfortunately, the mandated price was too low for domestic companies to stay in business. When they shuttered, the government brought imports of the same products, which increased the price. That, with pent-up demand, meant prices went sky high. Residents began using eggs as currency because they were worth more than the money itself.

KOHO Signup Link

What is the inflation rate in Canada?

To put a simple answer out in front, the rate of inflation in 2020 was, on average, .72%. What this means is that a product that cost $100 in 2019 cost $100.72 in 2020. This is a simplistic example but illustrates the point we outlined above: the purchasing power of the dollar is slightly less.

The Bank of Canada is in charge of monetary policy and helps manage the rate of inflation in the country. The bank is able to manage inflation by using its lending authority. The rate at which the government lends money to private banks, known as the prime interest rate, in turn, dictates the rate at which those banks lend and the interest they pay. This travels downhill as consumers borrow to fund new businesses, make large purchases, and more.

If the bank wants to raise inflation, it can lower its interest rate. This has the effect of putting more money into the economy because banks will borrow more money at the lower rate. If inflation is getting too high, the bank will tighten up its policies and raise the interest rate. At higher interest rates, banks will borrow less, thereby bringing the currency in circulation down. The Bank of Canada will periodically announce its target inflation, which allows banks and businesses to plan ahead.

What does inflation mean to me?

Inflation is a wide-scale phenomenon but it does have a profound impact on your everyday life, whether you know it or not. Most importantly, inflation has the effect of promoting borrowing, lending, and spending. This is because, in a broad sense, we know that the dollar will be worth less next year than it’s worth today. This pushes the consumer to make purchases now, particularly in things that will not lose value.

The housing market is an excellent example of the value of inflation to the average consumer. The average price of a home in Canada in 1980 was $76,000. Just nine years later, that same home would be worth nearly $200,000. That same average home in 2020 would cost you $930,000.

In short, inflation is a bit of a double-edged sword. It makes things more expensive and lowers the value of the dollar in your pocket (or the one in the wallet app on your phone). Not so great. It also, though, increases the value of the things that you own and investments that you already have. We spoke a bit about the housing market above, but the same principles apply to other investments as well. If you make some purchases in the stock market, whether they be via your retirement account or other accounts, and hold onto the investment, you’ll realize gains just from owning them. This is because the interest returned on investments tends to be more than inflation. Investments that have fixed payments like pensions, may not pay out as well because the same dollar won’t buy as much at the time at which it is withdrawn.

In all, inflation highlights the importance of diversifying your portfolio between all sorts of investments.

KOHO Signup Link

Conclusion

Inflation can be a net positive for consumers even though it doesn’t seem so on the surface. The gentle, slow rise in the cost of products and services means that an economy is chugging along at full steam. It also encourages more borrowing and spending, which in turn allows for more employment. Happy, well-paid employees spend money and so on. While inflation is an economy-wide metric, it does have an effect on the everyday lives of Canadians. Creating and sticking to a budget will help you spend, save and invest with confidence while keeping pace with inflation along the way.

Note: KOHO product information and/or features may have been updated since this blog post was published. Please refer to our Subscription Plans page for our most up to date account information!

Dan Bucherer

Dan is a runner and writer living in the Washington, D.C. area, where he currently works for a financial services trade association as the Communications Director.

Recent Articles

How long does collection stay on your credit report in Canada?

How Long does Bankruptcy Stay on your Credit Report in Canada?

How long does a consumer proposal stay on your record?

Who Pays for a First Date?

Who determines interest rates in Canada?

What is stagflation?

Related articles

How long does collection stay on your credit report in Canada?

3 mins

KOHO

Learn how long collections stay on your credit report in Canada and how to get them removed through debt settlement. Understand the importance of maintaining a good credit score and how it affects your ability to get credit.

How long does collection stay on your credit report in Canada?

3 mins

KOHO

Learn how long collections stay on your credit report in Canada and how to get them removed through debt settlement. Understand the importance of maintaining a good credit score and how it affects your ability to get credit.

#credit building

#credit score

#collections

#debt

logo.koho

Company

AboutAffiliatesCareersCultureGamerLearnPartnersTravelStatus

Connect

The KOHO Mastercard® Prepaid card is issued by KOHO Financial Inc. pursuant to license by Mastercard International Incorporated. Mastercard and the circles design are registered trademarks of Mastercard International Incorporated.

By using this website, you accept our Terms and Conditions. Follow these links for more information on our Privacy Policy, Accessibility Policy and Multi-Year Accessibility Plan. © 2023 KOHO Financial Inc.